How much wood can be splitt in a day?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

johnsopi

Minister of Fire
Nov 1, 2006
MD near DE&PA;
If I rent a splitter, and have a plan. How much wood can be splitt in a day if things go right. Ball park
numbers, is it 1-2 full cords or 3-4? I've never used one before. So have no idea how fast it can be done.

Sun up to sun down i have split 8 cords before .......................Normally i dont get that into it owning a splitter so i will take a week to split 8 cords hum dinging around about it and way too many breaks.

I would say 4+ no problem and 6 being a good goal that shouldnt be too hard. It helps to have a buddy and as you pick up and split your buddy can take the splits from there and even faster if you have someone to hand you the rounds.
3 people are about max when running a splitter and it can go really fast , but be careful too.

I do not like using a splitter because of all the handling. But for some pieces, its a necessity.

If you a physically able, I would split all the easy pieces with a maul, then rent the splitter for tough stuff. Don't try to work too fast to save a few bucks, thats when accidents happen.

Sandor said:
I do not like using a splitter because of all the handling. But for some pieces, its a necessity.

If you a physically able, I would split all the easy pieces with a maul, then rent the splitter for tough stuff. Don't try to work too fast to save a few bucks, thats when accidents happen.
Well said Be safe