How to hook up a wifi thermostat to a millivolt pellet stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Skier76

Minister of Fire
Apr 14, 2009
CT and SoVT
Disclaimer: I'm not an electrician or a stove tech; just a hobbyist. Here's what worked for me on my stove, it was a very simple process.

I opted to use a CT-50 Wifi Thermostat from Radiothermostat.com. They had a Black Friday deal for $75. I have this exact same t-stat running my oil boiler and central air system. I've had that setup for about 4-5 years. It's essentially the same unit, but branded as a 3M-50 and was sold at Home Depot for a few years at $99.

In addition to the thermostat, I purchased a 24V AC transformer from Radiothermostat.com to power the unit. Stoves don't have a C (Common), so this will power the wifi radio.

http://store.radiothermostat.com/24VAC-Transformer-CT-Transformer.htm

The wiring for this turned out to be very very simple. You're essentially hooking up 4 wires: Two from the stove, two from the transformer.

Here's some info I found here regarding the terminals to use for the stove:
"likely it is two wire as that is all that is needed, the RH (red) and white (W) no matter which is which.. " https://www.hearth.com/talk/bookmarks/1203/view-item (See attached pic below for a picture straight from the installation manual)

For the power wires, this is directly from radiothermostat.com: