How to REALLY clean an Acc52I? Small flame issue.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Accentra52i

Oct 18, 2017
Connecticut
Good evening,

First off, let me say I've been perusing this forum since April of 2015, when I first got my Acc52I, and this site has been helpful.

However, I have yet to find a guide that REALLY explains what EXACTLY has to be done to clean this stove out through and through.

I've looked through the manual, http://downloads.hearthnhome.com/installManuals/ACC52i_O.pdf

and it's very informative, and I've watched the video,

but it's missing things.

I keep reading about a flue on the left side of the insert(I'm assuming the left is when looking at the insert) that needs to be cleared out, but I can't find any information on this besides words in this forum.

I have also read that a temperature probe is next to the fines box (on the right side, looking at stove) that has to be taken out and cleaned? But the manual/video doesn't show this at all, or I flat out missed it.

I have taken the cover out that guards the blower motor, and stuck a vacuum cleaner up there and removed some soot/ash(not sure what the accurate term is here), but that's ALL I have done as far as air flow restriction(which I think is my issue).

I will describe what I did clean: