I messed up!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FOBOS

Dec 18, 2008
Central Montana
Hello Fellow wood burners. We just started using a wood stove to heat our house this winter. I have never used a wood stove before and do not know very much about the technical aspects. Well, its been really cold here in Montana and we have burned for about a week and a half straight. Yesterday I was outside shoveling snow and looked at our furnace pipe. It has brown streaks running down the sides. I am afraid that this is creosote build-up caused by: Not burning the fire hot enough and using green wood. The fella that sold us the wood said that it was seasoned, but the bark does not come off the sides and there really is no cracking at the ends. I have called a chimney cleaner and he may come out this afternoon. I am not going to burn again until I find out if the wood is dry. I may also not be letting the stove get hot enough. I am using a magnetic thermometer at get the fire around 300-350. Any advice would be very helpful. And I am glad to have found this site!

You want your stove top temp more like 500-600. If you bought wood, chances are it's not seasoned. Do what you can with the drier splits, and stand some wood up on its end around the stove to dry it out for a few hours before you try to burn it. It can be impossible to get good, dry wood this time of year. It's better to buy your wood in March and season it all summer .