Indoor Air Quality

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

michigan123

Dec 13, 2007
Southeast MI
Finishing my first year of wood burning with my quad insert. The only complaint that the wife has is the amount of gray dust in the room with the insert. The insert has two fans that run 24/7 that seem to be circulating the dust. I'm new to wood burning. Is this burnt dust from the air or is it soot that the fans pick up from the hearth? I was thinking about trying to attach some type of air filters to the outside of the fan grates to catch some of this dust. Does anyone have a similar problem? Possible solutions?

We have it, but we agreed not to comlain about the "mess" after I pointed out that we are saving about $600 a month in oil.

Welcome to one of the few drawbacks of woodburning-Dust. I would be leery of putting any filter that was not fire safe, and most aren't. Do you burn 24/7 or do they just run all the time? Now you know why most people who burned wood in the forties and fifties did so in the cellar and that just minimised the problem. Even today forced hot air creates dust but now we have better filters that actually work. Enjoy

Yes, I burn 24/7...

I was just researching this a little further and read that if you feed the appliance with outside air it will help the air quality. Does anyone use and outside air kit on their stoves? If so does it seem to help the dust problem?