Info on possible wood stove please

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CyberNoName

Sep 20, 2017
Wisconsin
hello! I'm still learning on wood stoves. I was quoted by a local wood stove place 5k to buy a quadra fire I think it was and have it installed. So decided to look around and possibly DIY. I've done quite a bit and after reading it doesn't look terrible.

Anyway I stumbled upon this one and wanted someone with more knowledge then me to help me out if it's a good deal or not.

https://milwaukee.craigslist.org/for/d/buckstove-big-buckstainless/6282686530.html

We're possibly selling in 3-4 years but I don't want to set anyone up for failure but I also don't want to drop 5k.

We live in Wisconsin and our only heat now is a furnace, it's good but we would like the wood stove as I used to have one when I was a kid.

1950s house chimney is in good order.

Thanks!

This is an insert, not a freestanding woodstove. Do you want an insert that goes into a masonry fireplace or do you plan on installing a freestanding stove?

It is also quite old. A modern stove will use a lot less fuel and burn a lot cleaner. For this price you can get a nice new stove that may cost less to install. Tell us more about the house and planned installation. Also, a stove is going to require good dry fuel. Do you have a handle on a source for a few cords of fully seasoned wood?

I'm sorry I completely blanked on that information.

I have a fireplace currently. Masonry. We actually have one in the basement that won't be used and one on the main floor (single story house).