Insert question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

itsanaddiction

Hearth Supporter
Dec 3, 2009
MN
These may sound like dumb questions, but I'm a newbie here so bear with me. I see more experience on this web site than I could accumulate in a lifetime, I'm asking for advice.

I've put an insert into my fireplace, and run a 6" ss liner up and out the old fireplace chimney. Using a piece of tin, I made a square cap for top of the chimney with a 6" hole in it, where the liner exits. OK, I'm looking at others pictures on this site and reading up, I see one picture where there is insulation stuffed in around the ss liner above the stove where the liner enters the chimney. I didn't do this, should I?

Also, I had an incident recently, this is my other question; I had the flue wide open for too long trying to get the thing lit. (First mistake, ashes where going up and out and I think it just got too hot). Then I noticed flames coming from the top of the chimney. I went up there with a fire extinguisher and put it out. Here's what happened... I had used hi temp sealant were the ss liner met with the tin cap I made to cap the chimney. It was the same stuff used to seal the front of the fireplace doors, so I didn't think twice about it getting too hot. The sealant was what caught fire, nothing else. I cleaned the whole thing, and have used it several times since with no issues.

The insert is a Kent Logfire I bought used, the prev owner had the original reciept from when he bought it in 1990. Any thoughts?