Install Planning - Stove selection/sizing

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ian105

Feb 10, 2014
Southwest Michigan
I'm new to residential woodburning, just burned in cabins in the past in pre-epa stoves. I have been researching and reading till my eyes hurt and I think decided on a BK Chinook 30 for a basement install. Its an expensive stove - but I figure If Im going to spend the money to do this - its getting done right so I can get the most out of it.

I wanted to share some of the stats and get some input on sizing and the method I used to determine heating/BTU requirements.

House is a ranch ~1800SF with full basement - so 3800 SF of total envelope. All well insulated including basement walls w/ good windows (newer construction) About half the basement is finished, with the rest of it closed off. It stays in the 50's

Given this winter has been especially cold I thought It would be a good time to take some stats in terms of heating requirements.

Located just north of Indiana in Southwest Michigan to give an idea of the climate
http://www.weather.com/weather/wxclimatology/monthly/graph/46616

91k BTU per gallon of propane (82k usable heat when burned at 90% eff). Usage this month has been around 5 gal per day, so 410k BTU needed per day.
so 17k BTU/HR needed on average.

Given the Chinook is rated from 12k to 36k this seems to be a good fit meaning for most of the season I will get 12+ hour burn times. Burn time is a priority - don't want to reload more than 2x a day - which is why I decided on BK. Thoughts?