Installing Cultured Stone...can constuction adhesive be used rather than mortar?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bucky

Feb 15, 2008
NY
Hello, all,

Newbie here. I am going to use the jointless ProFit Cultured Stone by Owens Corning to create the face of my new Mendota DVX-45 gas fieplace. My question is: has anyone had success with using a strong construction adhesive, like PL400 or the equivalent, to install the stone veneer? I think it would work, but I'm not quite sure.

Any advice?

Thanks very much,
Bucky

yep.

Just make sure you use the correct PL product. Mortar would be preferable but I have seen all kinds of stuff 'glued' with PL and it seems to work fine.

Amazingly enough, chimney sweep and outfits like copperfield promote the use of Liquid Nails type products for fastening chimney caps to flues!

The top of the unit is the critical part - most heat ends up above the unit. That is where you may want to use thinset, epoxy (even better) or even silicone for at least the last couple inches next to the unit.

Amazingly enough, chimney sweep and outfits like copperfield promote the use of Liquid Nails type products for fastening chimney caps to flues!

Seriously???. That stuff is WAY flamable...at least pre hardening it is. Maybe once it hardens all the burnable chemicals are "gassed off"???.

Bucky, I've used cultured stone on a few job and you should go by mfg. specs or you will void the warranty. We would use the empty tubes of PL to start fires on the job sites. It is very flammable, even hardened.

Jim

Bucky said: