Ironwood or Elm?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tjg911

Nov 22, 2006
Northwest Connecticut
Hi,

I haven't been here in over 7 years, I just have gotten too busy but I used to like this site. It was difficult remembering both my userid and password but I finally figured it out so here I am!

I have heated with wood for over 20 years using my boiler only about 1-3% of the time in the heating season. I used to buy my firewood in the round, green and split it with a splitting axe and a sledge hammer. I'm not an expert but I do know my way around wood and splitting it. I have worked on hickory which can split nice or be fibrous and difficult and yellow birch with lots of knots and that can be extremely hard to split due to the knots and especially fibrous nature of that wood is very nasty. But I have always managed to split difficult rounds in the past tho it may have taken 20 minutes to do so.

So I am mystified and hope someone here can tell me just what the heck I found and was dealing with. I tend to be long winded but I like to include lots of details to get a better answer.