Jotul 550 blower automatic setting

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WoodNewbie

Nov 20, 2009
Eastern MA
I am new in wood burning and just have a Jotul 550 installed last summer. Weather has been pretty mild so far. I set up a few fires but the blower (on auomatic setting) didn't turn on. Does anyone have any idea at which temperature it is supposed to start? (also where do you measure the temperature?)
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I'm not sure at what temp it is suppose to come on but mine will kick on about 20 to 30 minutes after I light the stove from a cold start. Double check the the switch is in the right position in the front. Does it work on Manual setting? Make sure the fan speed is turned up also on the speed dial. Have you had any real fires? Meaning after you get the kindling going you add more splits and then load it up and get the secondaries to burn as well? I can get all that within the 20-30 minutes depending on how good my wood is, outside temps, etc. Also take the grill off the front and make sure the wire didn't come off the metal (not sure of the name - snap set maybe) The auto switch is controlled using the heat sensor on the thin piece of sheet metal above the two fans just below the firebox.