Jotul 600

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

powdervo

Dec 2, 2018
Vermont
Hi there!
I am kinda new to having a wood stove. I bought mine used last season and has been great up to now.
Suddenly it started loosing draft and would let smoke out, the burn was weak , not clean and my chimney was constantly smoking. The house smells of smoke ...
I finally cleaned it out and took a look , not knowing what I am looking at.
Looks like there is a cracked plate at the back of the stove. I am attaching some pictures.
Is there any remedy for that or I am screwed?
Thank you in advance!
IMG_20200115_185259391.jpgIMG_20200115_185220425.jpgIMG_20200115_185207750.jpgIMG_20200115_185417152.jpgIMG_20200115_185215329.jpg.

What you are looking at is the back burn plate that covers the secondary air manifold. I don't think that is the issue.
When was the flue system last cleaned? Was the cap cleaned as well?

Just to be sure, is this an F600 with secondary tubes or an F12 with a catalyst?

What you are looking at is the back burn plate that covers the secondary air manifold. I don't think that is the issue.
When was the flue system last cleaned? Was the cap cleaned as well?
I haven't done that. I am actually not sure how to do it. Do I just clean the flues that are on top? I don't know where the "cap" is and how to clean it. So I guess I haven't cleaned it.

Hi Begreen,
Thanks for fast response! This is with the tubes. on top. No catalyst.
OK, moving the thread to the main forum. This is a modern EPA stove.