Jotul F12 Firelight rear burn plate replacement

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

tg27

Feb 16, 2020
USA
Hey all...

I noticed last year that, what I think is my rear burn plate, has a crack in it (see pic). The stove is a Jotul Firelight 12.

So I'm looking to replace it with part 103330. My question is, is this in fact the correct part? It appears to be. And is this repair as easy as it seems? Just unscrew the bolt and replace the cracked one with the new one?

Appreciate the help! I've never worked on my stove before, and I'm a bit nervous!

image0.jpeg

You need part 100327. The rear burn plate. That being said: you will likely need many or possible all the combustion components as well. Start with the rear burn plate and replacement screw. You will need to heat the bolt up with a torch to get it to move. Reinstall it with copper anti seize and a new factory bolt. If you never pulled it, expect a lot of ash and likely failed parts.

Reactions: Ashful
You need part 100327. The rear burn plate. That being said: you will likely need many or possible all the combustion components as well. Start with the rear burn plate and replacement screw. You will need to heat the bolt up with a torch to get it to move. Reinstall it with copper anti seize and a new factory bolt. If you never pulled it, expect a lot of ash and likely failed parts.
Hmm. That’s kind of intimidating. Would it be bad if I just ignored it?

Hmm. That’s kind of intimidating. Would it be bad if I just ignored it?