Jotul Oslo Break-in fires

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ansehnlich1

Retired Hearth.com Member
Dec 5, 2006
Adams County, PA
Howdy,

1st fire I took to 200 degrees as instructed in the manual, a week or so ago, the next one I went to 300 degrees. This morning I went a bit past 400 to 450, it's hard to judge you know :)

Anyway, we had some boiling sound, a bit of flux or something maybe?, boiling off??? Anybody ever had such a thing?

Starting the fire in the Oslo, well, I'm new to the EPA stove, it takes a bit to get 'er going. I did crumpled paper, then 8 or so pieces of kindling, then a small split on top, kept side door cracked til it got going, then closed her up. Once the cast iron get's hot she gets going real good.

So what about the boiling anyway???

New furnace cement has moisture in it. You're likely just burning it off...

Not tryin' to be a wise guy, but did you have a wet round or split in that burn?Sizzling sound?

Hey, no wet wood here, dry, like, think sahara :)

ain't been no real rain here all summer, i mean, dry, dry, dry.

I'm thinking some left over flux, grease, moisture in the cement there, or something.

I have a Jotul Oslo and didnt have any experience hearing a boiling sound, I did have fumes from the paint burning in. Did your glass soot up at all ?
About how long has your wood been split/stacked and what kind of wood is it?

Here are a couple things I do with my Oslo: