Jotul Oslo hearth installation

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Cheoah

May 30, 2018
Swannanoa Valley, NC
Hi everyone, I’m going ahead with a stove install and I’d like to use the Oslo. My lintel is at 26”, part of an old heatalator we’ve used a little over the years. With the short leg kit, it’ll barely fit, per specs. I really think the flu collar will fit under there. What do y’all think? The stove will be proud of the hearth for the most part, flush with the opening. How difficult will flu pipe conections be with marginal clearances around the stove? I’ve been a career farmer, so I have lots of experience doing impossible crap out of necessity. I always defer to those who have more experience and that’d be about all of you I’m sure, if you’ve installed a stove. We heated with wood exclusively for years with fisher wood stoves, but I never installed a one of them. Just fed them and clothed them with new gaskets. Edit: I forgot to mention I’m prepared to remove a small amount of material from bottom of feet if I’m .25” or so off. I think it will be necessary.

I haven’t modified the metal firebox yet, the angled back sheet will need to be cut to accommodate connections to a 6” liner I’ve yet to install in my 15’ masonry chimney. It appears that one 90 will get me plumb with the flue, or perhaps a 45, although I’m not sure I have the space for that. Do they make flexible ones? This is the kind of thing I need to figure out ahead of time, I have no interest in winging it, and moving the stove up and down until I get it plumbed right.....