Large flame and Creosote build up in P38 Harman pellet stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

D21dey

Sep 28, 2018
PA USA
All,

This is my first time posting so I will try to include all of the information. If I miss anything please let me know and I will provide more.

I have had my stove for a year now and last winter it ran great heating my house no problem. I gave it a full cleaning every month. Towards the end of the year it started to build up soot. So l gave it another full cleaning including the feeder where the pellets drop from. It was about half full and I vacuumed it out. I was not able to see the door to see if was tilted or anything. I also cleaned off the probe in the exhaust. There was some build up but not to bad. I have also swept the exhaust pipe leading out of the house. So far none of this has made a difference. On start up the flame seems fine. But after about 20 mins the flame is large and there is build up of soot in the stove and build up of ash and some soot in the glass.

I have posted a image of the flame below.

Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Thank you,

Dylan

Attachments

• 8BDFA94F-99B0-45D4-A3D8-90996E74FD76.jpeg
    8BDFA94F-99B0-45D4-A3D8-90996E74FD76.jpeg
    15.9 KB · Views: 270
Last edited by a moderator:
All,

This is my first time posting so I will try to include all of the information. If I miss anything please let me know and I will provide more.