jp57 Posted By jp57, Feb 17, 2015 at 9:45 AM

1. jp57

jp57
    Member 2.
    NULL

Apr 4, 2011
    Loc:
    Moore Twsp., Pa
    This is my first year with a pellet stove and I'm learning as I'm going along (and reading this forum). Just a couple things that I'm starting to figure out:

1. Got to have a humidifier, or two, going with the stove running. Dry as all h3ll in the house without them.
    2. "A clean stove is a happy stove". Self explanatory.
    3. The stove can run all day and night. As long as it is properly maintained, she'll run just fine.
    3. Buy pellets in advance of the winter. I only had about 30 bags going into the witner and with the real nasty, nasty cold we're having here in NE PA, it is nowhere near enough. Had to pay $7/bag yesterday at a dealer so I grabbed just enough to get me through this week. HD, Lowes, and TSC all are out of stock around me. I COULD drive an hour down to Bucks Pellets, but I would end up paying more in gas.

So...for next year...buy pellets early, keep the humidifiers running, keep the stove clean, and don't panic about the house burning down. LOL

Oh...and seriously look into adding a OAK.

2. SidecarFlip

SidecarFlip
    Minister of Fire 2.
    NULL

Feb 7, 2010
    Loc:
    S.E. Michigan
    Thats all common sense IMO.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Peterfield

Peterfield
    Minister of Fire 2.
    NULL

Dec 12, 2013
    Loc:
    New Hampshire

OAK? What's that?? ;)

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    jp57 likes this.
  4. jp57

jp57
    Member 2.
    NULL

Apr 4, 2011
    Loc:
    Moore Twsp., Pa
    It really kind of is...but sometimes you can't see it if you don't go through it first, ya know? :)

Lindsey-Ann and Pellet_Pete like this.
  5. Fsappo

Fsappo
    Minister of Fire 2.
    NULL

Apr 9, 2008
    Loc:
    Central NY
    its a guy thing. Sometimes we need to suffer to learn