Let the fire go out so I could clean the chimney

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rdust

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Feb 9, 2009
Michigan
It was tough listening to the furnace run and run. I loaded at 11:30 pm Friday night and still had to shovel hot coals out Saturday around 5 pm so it would finish cooling down. This is my first year with a stove and the wood isn't perfect so I wanted to make sure everything was doing ok. Everything that came out seemed fluffy I didn't see any shinny crunchy stuff, I used the shop vac to clean it up so I'm not sure how much was there.

A nice fire is burning now and I haven't heard that furnace for a while. :)

Here is a before picture, I didn't take one after since I was pretty much a mess by then. :lol:

Attachments

• PC190031.jpg
    PC190031.jpg
    54.9 KB · Views: 408
That doesn't look bad at all. How much wood have you gone through to this point?

pen

I clean my chimney in the Summer so I don't lament the fire.

Was that a top-down or bottom-up cleaning? I'm guessing the camera is looking up but there's no light at the end of the tunnel.

LLigetfa said:
I clean my chimney in the Summer so I don't lament the fire.

Was that a top-down or bottom-up cleaning? I'm guessing the camera is looking up but there's no light at the end of the tunnel.