Looking to get longer burn times between reloads on new cat insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

laxin213

Burning Hunk
Sep 18, 2014
Buffalo NY
Hello,

I've read and agree with the notion that since this is my first year with this inset and with a cat unit for that matter - that I won't know what is a good burn time. The manual says I can get "up to" 12 hours of burn out of my 3.0 cu ft insert, fireplaceX large flush arch. On overnight burns I load it full and when I wake up I do get hot coals after about 8 hours.

So what I'm looking for is some general burn tips:

1. When should I reload and how. Right now the blower is still blowing hot air, and the coals are big and white hot - not powerdy yet. Should I reload right now- a single piece or jam it full? I think the right thing to do is jam it full, open up the air so the wood is engulfed and then over the course of 20 minutes or so choke the air down almost all the way. If I totally choke the air I get a lot of carbon on the glass. I have it about 1/4" out from choked out usually. But should I let it just go on coals until they are nearly burned out and the blower turns off? Try to reload like 2-3 times a day? Right now it seems like I'm reloading 6 times a day.....

Looking to get longer burn times between reloads on new cat insert