Lopi Endeavor getting up to temp

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

GrumpyOldMan

Nov 7, 2019
NE Indiana
Greetings all,

First I must say this is a very infomative site, and much appreciated.
This is my first year wood burning so I am very much a newbie.
I live in North Eastern Indiana.
My stove model is a Lopi Endeavor. It was installed by the dealer, and I have no complaints about the installation.
The manual is a little lacking in operation tips.

I guess what I need is a "sanity check".

We have a lot of Dead Ash trees , that have fallen or have blown over due to a very wet summer.
I have been "Salvaging" these and using them for Firewood. I do try to avoid the stuff that has been down too long or is punky
or pulpy.

This stove runs great and I can control it well, once it gets to temp.
My biggest problem is getting that good hot fire established on the initial fire up.

I think my wood is borderline wet. It tests around 18% to 15% with 2 different meters.
No matter how I stack it, it just seems to take about an hour to 1.5 hours to get the stove top temp to 500 to 600 degrees.
After I get there, I can let it burn down to a nice bed of coals and maintain a stove top temp of 400 to 450 easily.
I am using the inferno magnetic stove top thermostat and an IR gun to check the stove top temp.
That temp seems to work quite well in keeping our 2000 sq ft home around 72 to 73 degrees.
I think I need drier wood for the initial start?

I usually judge how clean the fire is by looking at the top of the chimney, if I only see heat waves or heat waves and very light grey smoke,