Lopi Large Hybrid insert -what temp to bypass cat when fire going out/cooling down

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

JRV

Mar 10, 2018
CT
Hey guys, complete noob here so bare with me. I live in CT and have a 4500 sq ft home and am trying to use the oil furnace less for heat. So I just had a Lopi Large Hybrid insert installed into my mason fireplace. I have a few questions for you seasoned folks:

1. I run the cat up to about 1200 F and use kiln-dried wood so I try not to load too much so I don't run too hot, risking overfire...again I am noob so dont want to destroy it or have a chimney fire. Is that a good temp to peak for the cat? Should i run lower?
2. On cool down, when should I bypass the cat? At this time, I have been refilling around 300 degrees and will then bypass it for refill, then get it back to temp before engaging. Should I bypass around 200, 400?
3. For people who rely solely on wood stoves, do you try to run daily during the season? Can that be done with an insert without risking reliability?

We are happy with it so far but has been a learning curve compared to the open fireplace.

Attachments

• IMG_4888.JPG
    IMG_4888.JPG
    50.1 KB · Views: 215