Lopi Pioneer newbie

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rod_munch

Oct 3, 2014
wisconsin
I just bought a used lopi pioneer freestanding stove. From a chimney sweep, for $1500 installed. Its sitting in my living room. Be hooked up later this week.

Im new to this, and just wondering if I did ok, or do I have a 1500 dollar boat anchor? I realize I'll have to clean/maintain this frequently, and use high quality pellets. Anyone use one of these? And are they ok?
I've got a 1400 sq ft house. Oil furnace.

thanks

Several posters on this site speak highly of the Lopi / Avalon brand. Do a search , you'll likely find some positive comments.

Good Luck

I am on my 4th season with my Lopi Pioneer. Quality PNW built, it keeps my 1,330 sq ft house toasty warm. It has been a great little stove. Easy to clean and maintain.

I did replace the burn-pot (erosion) under warranty. At the end of last season I replaced the exhaust fan (bad bearing), which was a simple DIY job.

Does anyone know where I can order the optional gold door trim, for my lopi pioneer freestanding stove?

Ive been using it every day. I burn indeck and lumberjack pellets. It heats my 1200 sq ft house nicely. I live in Wisconsin. So it gets below zero here plenty.