Lopi Revere vs. Kozy Heat Z42

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

brainford

Feb 16, 2019
PA
Does anyone have advice on the advantages/disadvantages between the Lopi Revere and KH Z42? I am looking to upgrade my current inefficient ZC fireplace and these two were both recently recommended. Replacing a mid 90's Majestic ZC insert. I am new to the world of real wood burning stoves and want to make sure I am doing it the right way. I have a 2700 sq. ft. home and looking for a nice looking fireplace and also a secondary heat source for the first floor. Any other units I should be looking at?
This install will be done by a local professional. Thanks for any advice and recommendations.

The Lopi Revere is a fireplace insert. It goes into an existing fireplace. The Kozy Z42 is a complete, zero-clearance fireplace so they are not really comparable. There are many good ZC fireplaces on the market, but it will be easier to make recommendations with more detailed requirements. Pictures are welcome too.

How much of the home will the fireplace be heating? Will this be used for 24/7 burning or more for nights and weekends? If heating the whole place 24/7 you may want a bigger firebox than the Z42, especially if the house has high ceilings and a lot of glazing or poor insulation.

The Lopi Revere is a fireplace insert. It goes into an existing fireplace. The Kozy Z42 is a complete, zero-clearance fireplace so they are not really comparable. There are many good ZC fireplaces on the market, but it will be easier to make recommendations with more detailed requirements. Pictures are welcome too.