Missing Pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Eyball

Mar 12, 2014
Thompson, CT
Sorry if this is a newbie question but I'm new to the pellet world. I finally moved over from a wood stove. My question is it normal for a decent amount of pellets to miss the fire pot? I have burned about 5 bags & have probably at least a couple cups worth of ones unburned that missed the pot or jumped out. I have a breckwell. P4000 vermont model it has a small fire pot. Otherwise it burns the okanagen pellets awesome & heats my entire ranch. The stove is in my basement with fresh air supply hooked up.

Sorry if this is a newbie question but I'm new to the pellet world. I finally moved over from a wood stove. My question is it normal for a decent amount of pellets to miss the fire pot? I have burned about 5 bags & have probably at least a couple cups worth of ones unburned that missed the pot or jumped out. I have a breckwell. P4000 vermont model it has a small fire pot. Otherwise it burns the okanagen pellets awesome & heats my entire ranch. The stove is in my basement with fresh air supply hooked up.

That seems excessive to me. I'll let someone who has your male/model stove comment specifically but, while my stove misdrops a few pellets from time to time, you can count them on one hand.

I agree. I don't have the same stove but mine might lose 1 or 2 per bag at the MOST.