Mixed advice on SS liner in prefab chimney

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wahoowad

Minister of Fire
Dec 19, 2005
Virginia
Hello! Newbie here. I know this must be a frequent question but I did search the archives and FAQ and didn't see a direct answer. My apologies if I missed something.

I just purchased a Jotul 3CB. I have a prefab "out and up" style chimney according to some things I read here. This is a zero clearance setup with a 8 inch stainless steel inner pipe inside a larger 10 or 12 inch pipe. It is a 2 story chimney and goes straight up. I am aware of numerous clearance topics, etc but have a question specifically about whether I need an additional 6 inch stainless steel flex liner installed. The fireplace store owner's son was adamant I needed it - he seemed to live strictly by the manufacturers instructions. Hard to fault him there. The owner said he was walking on thin ice discussing it but felt I would be fine using a reducer to convert the 6 inch stovepipe to fit the 8 inch pipe at my damper. My neighbor has used the simpler method (reducer stright to 8 inch pipe) for his woodstove and said I should do the same.

I appreciate your opinions. My thanks to the webmaster for making this forum possible!