My Wood Guy Said He Wouldn't Sell Me Wood, And I'm Happy :)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dix

Minister of Fire
May 27, 2008
Long Island, NY
Local guy.. I've been buying wood for him for 5 years or so, he drops it off during the week, I stop in over the weekend and pay him. It works for both of us :)

I've alot of stuff to be split, and not the time to haul home the borrowed splitter, etc. So I figured I'd see if he had a cord or 2 to keep me going until I could get to it. He said "no, not for you...the fireplace was one thing, your stove is another". I was :grrr:

Then he said "how much do you have to split?" I said about 1 cord dry and ready (all cut into 16" rounds) and probably 2-3 of fresh stuff from summer/fall cut from the property. He said He's coming around with his 2 cord an hour splitter to some of his regular customers, and splitting what they have to help them out. Charging $100 per hour for 2 cord split. All done after New Years.

I figure, I don't have to tow the borrowed splitter home (and bring it back), stand out there, and git 'er dun, and all, it's worth it.

Add in the SO is having a "no, you can't have your own splitter, it's too dangerous" (said to me with a running chain saw in my hand :coolhmm: ).

So for between $150 and 200 you can get our wood split. If you think it is worth it, go for it. It is a lot less wear and tear on your body. Time wise, it sounds like you don't have much time to get it done.

Doing The Dixie Eyed Hustle said: