Need advice to aid install of a wood burning stove - total newbie

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

djhep

Hearth Supporter
Feb 9, 2010
Spain
Hi all.
Firstly i would like to introduce myself...Dave is the name and i am based in a chilly part of Southern Spain. (in winter that is)
I'm so pleased to have stumbled upon this site, as i am in the process of reforming a house and want to install a wood burning stove.

I have no idea where to even start with this install, but want to make sure that i don't end up burning down the house, so some basic advice would be really welcome, and most appreciated

A bit of info about the property

1.House is 3 storeys, with the garage taking up the first (ground floor).

2. The main living area is on the middle floor (lounge is 26ft x 15ft x 10ft high) there is also a bedroom and kitchen (total 700 sq ft floor area).

3. The guest bedrooms and bathroom are on the upper floor (total 500 sq ft floor area

4. There is no chimney in the property.

5. Alternative heating is available in the form of AC/heating units.

6. I have a multi fuel stove available, which is a Firefox 8 and is free standing (I would like to use this, but if it is felt to be unsuitable, would look at purchasing something more suitable). I will be burning only wood.

7. Floors are concrete construction with hardwood finish on top.

8. Stove would sit on the middle floor in the lounge, and flue would pass through the lounge ceiling (concrete) into the top floor accomodation (hopefully to aid with heating), and then out through the roof (concrete construction)