Need help understanding Vacuum switch...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

fmt2bx

Feb 22, 2020
Pacific NW
Hi, Newbie here. We got this used Whitfield Advantage 2T pellet stove when we purchased our home. I am going through it now, just to make sure that everything is in order. Spent a lot of time, cleaning, I replaced a few things like motor gaskets, door seal. Also tested the stove, all seems to be working just fine right now.

There is one thing tho that I cannot comprehend. On the exhaust housing is a nipple which connects to the vacuum switch. How come the rubber line doesn't fill up with smoke and ashes??? Don't see how this creates any sort of vacuum..(???) Also, for testing purposes, I ran the stove (outside) with the rubber line disconnected. It keeps running????? I can select any heat setting and it keeps running just fine. It never stopped the auger like it is suppose to do. (???) anyone with some explanation would be really appreciated.. (posted some pictures)

Thank you

Screen Shot 2020-02-22 at 4.37.39 PM.jpg

Screen Shot 2020-02-22 at 4.38.12 PM.jpg

If there are three terminals on the switch, the wires could be on the Normally Closed terminals, thus falsely indicating vacuum.

When the exhaust motor runs, it draws air through the stove, creating a low pressure inside the stove. The pressure reduction is very slight, not enough to feel, but enough to trip a sensitive switch. Note the large diameter of the switch, allowing for a large diaphragm to develop enough force to operate the switch.