Need Mo' Heat!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

gstowe

Dec 8, 2017
Mid-TN
I've just read the thread about free-standing vs insert. Hope it's OK to start a new thread because I'm thinking of going in the opposite direction, from insert to free-standing. But feel free to convince me otherwise.

I've been heating with wood for 7 years now. When I bought my current house it had a fireplace with a stone chimney on an exterior wall - obviously not ideal. I decided to go with an insert and (like an ignorant newbie) bought it based on the square footage I was hoping to heat, completely disregarding the vaulted ceiling ... and not yet knowing how poorly insulated my attic was. I ended up getting a good quality Regency insert and that first winter we had no choice but to burn relatively green wood ... needless to say it was cold. I've learned a lot about wood heating and thermodynamics - the hard way.

Fast forward to 2017 ... I'm burning well-seasoned hardwoods and my attic has 20" of blown-in insulation. I've done just about all I can do to insulate, including the windows at night. But my wife & daughters are still sitting on top of that insert trying to stay warm, with that squirrel-fan rattling away trying to push some heat into the room. I can't help but think I'm severely undersized with that insert, and I'm thinking of bringing a free-standing stove onto the hearth, and go with something like the Hearthstone Equinox that's better sized for the CUBIC footage I'm trying to heat.