Need some splitting advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

SterlingSL

Nov 4, 2010
Dallas Tx
I found some free fresh cut oak on CL. Some of the rounds are getting close to 36" across. I've tried my wedge & sledge but it's just laughing at me and bouncing my wedge out making me pick it up every time. My maul can't even get through the smaller rounds. Probably because I'm new at all this.

I can't justify a $1K splitter. But I have found some cheaper bottle splitters online. Is that something I could use to get through these massive rounds? I barely got the things in my truck. I had to winch and slide them up two 4x4s as they weigh probably 400-500 lbs. I can barely turn them over on the ground. There won't be much lifting these things until I get some weight cut off them.

Some options I'm looking at:
- manual bottle splitter
- slide hammer splitter (reviews I see on the anaconda indicate it won't do the job)
- ?

Not opposed to work as I'll probably go at these a few rounds at a time. I love going out for a few wacks at the wood pile.

What kind of maul are you using? I've personally never split oak rounds that big but can you work from the outsides in? That's what i'd try. Forget the wedges.