New Guy with Majestic Fireplace WM36a

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

davidpbritton

Hearth Supporter
Dec 29, 2007
Colorado Springs
Hi All,

Been reading through your forum for the last few days, and I appreciate all the knowledge that is being passed around. I'm new to fireplaces, we had a decorative fireplace where I used to live (Dallas, TX) that was good for ambiance, but not much else. When your coldest night of the year may not even get below freezing (I'm stretching the truth, but not by much) , you don't need much in the way of heat. :)

Now we are up in Colorado Springs, and the house that we purchased has a Majestic Fireplace model number wm36a. As near as I can tell, it's close to the wmc36, but is different (maybe older?). I can't find the model number on Majestic's site, and a google turns up 3 links for it. Basically, I'm just looking for how to use the thing appropriately. In researching for the past few days/weeks, I have found that it has the following features:

* at least Double walled insert
* Blower with variable speed (high speeds are loud)
* blower vents that are built into the double wall on all sides
* External Air Source
* Lever on bottom front of fireplace that I think opens and closes external air (not sure about that)
* variable damper control on top exterior of fireplace
* 8 inch pipe leading out of top of firebox
* tempered glass doors, I'm guessing they are not ceramic, but I don't know how to tell