New Member Intro, Question.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Gibbonboy

Oct 3, 2006
Hello and thanks to everyone here, this is a great resource to find information. I've read most of the forum posts on the site over the last few weeks. I grew up with wood heat, when I graduated from high school, we still had the same tank of oil that we had when I went into junior high. Our woodstove (then a Better N Bens insert) provided 100% heat for our house, and fortunately for me, I learned from my folks how to take care of myself, from cooking to cutting wood to raising my own food.

Zip forward a bunch of years, and I now own a 1400 sq. ft. house that's 170 years old. I had been heating it 100% with anthracite for the last 3 years. This year's flood put about 4 feet of water in my basement (on top of a hill at 1800' ASL!) and ruined my coal stove and backup oil furnace, among other things. I made the decision to switch to wood, because I have lots of places to get free wood, and I wasn't keen about the volume or toxicity of coal ash/cinders. I've done my research, and decided to buy a wood/coal furnace, a USSC 1600M from Tractor Supply. I looked at Harmans, Charmasters, and others, and for the difference in quality/design (minimal), I couldn't justify the extra $1,000+ for the "brand name" units. The 1600 is a bit better constructed than the lower models, and I think it will do what I want it to. I've put up 8 cords of seasoned wood already, have 2 in the basement ready to go.