New stove, pellet help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JackieA

Dec 5, 2014
Rhode Island
Pellet stove newbie here. Harman XXV arrives 12/22. On the verge of ordering pellets.

House is 100 yrs old, 1200 sq ft, insulated but a bit drafty. Two rooms upstairs will be closed, except during extreme cold.

I understand it's best to try several varieties. But at this late date and with the shortage of pellets, I want to secure a supply asap. Also, I live on a peculiar dirt road and need to make sure a truck can maneuver a delivery (before the stove arrives!).

I am ordering from PelletsDirect in MA. Choices are:

- LG Granules $319/ton

- Geneva Super Premium Hardwood $319/ton

- SureFire Alberta Softwood $339/ton

- Miscellaneous Hardwood Pellets $339/ton - (could be any one of "16 High Quality Wood Pellets, including, but are not limited to: Geneva, InstantHeat, Orford, Ambiance, Green Gold, Barefoot & PWI/Logik-e.") My hunch is the Miscellaneous would be Geneva SP at this time.

Delivery is $79, regardless of amount.

2 or 3 tons? Brands?

My current thinking is 3 tons, one each of: Geneva SP, LG Granules, Surefire.

Or should I go with 2 LGs and 1 Geneva? Or all softwood?

On the site visit, the dealer suggested we'd get by with 2 tons this year. Should I order 2 tons and pick up single bags elsewhere if needed. Try a greater variety and wait for a better price next spring?

SO confusing! I thought the confusion was over when we decided on a stove.

I would really appreciate any input.

Thanks!

Jackie