new stove suggestion for barn home

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

chrisfromlargo

Mar 31, 2022
Philadelphia, pa
Hi Guys, I have been reading hearth thread for close to 6 months
our family is getting serious about wood stove addition to our home.

- never had a wood stove before so total newbie
- ideally: looking for a centerpiece, large fire window that stays clean, and easy to operate
- area: 3000 sqft open concept living area (top floor), ceiling 14ft, another 8ft or so of attic, family bedrooms are on floor below
- corner wood stove location as shown
- ash pan? - reading here that it's better to get stove without one?
- side loading? seems to be less intimidating that loading stove from top?
- chimney - was thinking of double wall pipe
- planning to build a raised mantle

- stoves I have been thinking of:
1. VC defiant - seems little intimidating due to amount of maintenance and handholding required
2. Hearthstone Manchester - was my initial choice but reading here, seems the newer model has many issues
3. Woodstock progressive hybrid? Not sure if it would be a right fit but like various customization allowed, also having to find someone to install
4. Hearthstone Mansfield - do not see that it is available right now, I really the look of this but not sure for such a large space, soapstone stove is good for radiant heat
5. Jotul Oslo vs Carrabassett - concern about efficiency of carrabassett ??
6. Blaze King 40 - do not like the design of the stove indoor pic main.jpg indoor pic 1.jpg outside pic 1.jpg

Attachments

• floor diagram.pdf
    70.3 KB · Views: 124