New to me VC Resolute III

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Nov 30, 2021
Southern RI
Hi everyone,
Sorry this is going to be kinda long but I figured I'd tell the whole story before I ask y'all some troubleshooting questions..
I moved into a house in March and it had a VC Resolute III marked 03/11/1986 on the inside of the left door. When I first looked at it, it seemed to be in rough shape and it was getting to be summertime so I put it on the back burner. Well about a month ago it started getting colder and we decided it was time to see if we could get the old girl going again.
I'm an industrial maintenance tech by trade so I did a little research and tackled it all myself. First I had to get the birds nest and family of 5 out of the 90 degree elbow that went through the wall and out to the exterior stainless insulated chimney. Then noticed that where the nest was had a nice hole eaten through the inner lining.. Found out after some research that the company (Hart & Cooley) had not made this style of tab-lock chimney since 2002. But the old guy who I got on the phone sent me a new twist lock style section that worked with a little MacGyvering and some self tappers.