New to OWB - need advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Calentarse

Feeling the Heat
Feb 25, 2011
MD
Hello everyone. I am a prospective newbie to the outdoor wood burning world and have just started reading in this forum. I am looking for advice on where to start.

Here's my backstory:

I just sold a 1300 square-foot house with a 2013 blaze king freestanding stove. Our new house is 2200 ft.² and has absolutely no fireplace. We are considering an outdoor wood burner for many reasons: there is no existing chimney in this new house and because I am beginning to think that burning wood inside is really worsening my allergies. I am very passionate about using sustainable fuels to heat my home but Want to try to reduce any poor air quality that A woodstove may cause.

I have access to firewood that I can get for free pretty rapidly. This house has an existing propane forced air furnace as well as a propane water heater. The furnace is about 14 years old. I'd like the outdoor wood boiler to heat my water and my home. Where would you recommend I begin reading/researching to start this process? Any idea how much this venture will cost? In the winter it really does not get very cold here: usually the coldest temps we see are in the teens at night and in the 40s during the day, often times warmer than this. We are planning on keeping this house long term so we're just trying to make an informed decision. Thank you to anyone interested in giving me some information-would greatly appreciate it!