new to stoves with a vogelzang ponderosa, have a popping question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

txvenom

Jan 4, 2017
Texas
hello everyone,
I'm new to wood stoves, always had open fireplaces growing up .
We built a rather unique home in west Texas in that its a concrete dome 50' across and 25' high.
Actually 2 of them connected by a 25x25 concrete building but currently only 1 dome and the connector are living space.
Bedrooms are located in an open loft style 2nd floor
Translation = lots of cubic feet

When I chose a stove, the Ponderosa was about the biggest I could find.

So far so good, it will take a little bit of edge off on cold nights.

I have 2 questions though:

1 it makes a LOT of coals.Like burn 18-24 hours and theres not much room left for wood - suggestions?
Burning seasoned oak mostly with some mesquite and pecan.

2 its noisy. loud popping all the time.

I have an idea on #2- it has panels bolted to the sides, I'm assuming as heat shields. They would expand and contract at a different rate than the box, yes?
I'm guessing that is where a lot of the popping is coming from .
So do you think loosening the mounting bolts a bit would quieten some of the noise ?
I would just try it but they're really big screws and super tight, so they'll take some effort and I don't want to mess up he finish if I'm way off base in my thinking.

thanks y'all !

Reactions: UrbanBrnr
Popping is pretty normal as temp changes for a stove, or any metal. Think about the engine and exhaust of a car after being parked.