New to wood burning stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

c.otton

Oct 12, 2022
Maryland
I recently purchased a house and it came with a sears wood stove. Like I said im new to this only time I burnt wood was whilst camping. I have no idea what I'm doing and or if this thing is even safe with how it was installed. If anyone could assist I would really appreciate it.

16656215563015509431580138100025.jpg 16656216021065202675642680167198.jpg

Is there a UL label on the stove that lists clearances and hearth protection requirements? The hearth pad appears to be inadequate. If there is no UL label or testing documentation, then the stove is considered unlisted and the clearances may also be inadequate.

Is there a UL label on the stove that lists clearances and hearth protection requirements? The hearth pad appears to be inadequate. If there is no UL label or testing documentation, then the stove is considered unlisted and the clearances may also be inadequate.
No there's nothing on it anywhere other then what's written on the door as far as I can tell. All that says is " sears do not use grate or elevate fire - build fire directly on hearth"

Looks like the horizontal pipe run is angled down to the crock? Could create draft issues. Probably a good idea to hire a certified sweep to inspect the whole system.

Looks like the horizontal pipe run is angled down to the crock? Could create draft issues. Probably a good idea to hire a certified sweep to inspect the whole system.