Newb felling question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Danno77

Minister of Fire
Oct 27, 2008
Hamilton, IL
I may have cut down 50+ trees in my entire life, so I'm still new to this, i imagine. Especially compared to some of you guys. Went out to the timber over the weekend to cut down some dead trees and cut up some that had fallen. Ran across a tree leaning on another. I've been meaning to take it down for some time now, just never got around to it. On our timber we have a marked campsite and some hiking trails, this tree leans right over the trail, so i really wanted to get it down. My plan of attack was to cut it as high as I could and when it fell to repeat until I could get the crotches to separate. There was talk about cutting it low and chaining up to the bottom and driving off (my brother-in-law was with me)

I cut about 80% through the thing just over my head and started feeling uneasy about standing anywhere near the thing because I just wasn't sure how it'd fall and I was getting pissed that it was still standing strong. Last thing I wanted was for it to clamp down on my chainsaw and have to run away like a little girl while it crunched my running Stihl to pieces.