Newb with a Grandpa Bear

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Frank K

Nov 1, 2011
West Virginia
First off, I'm completely new to this set of forums, and new to wood stoves in general.

Several years ago, I bought a newish house with what seems to be a Grandpa Bear stove in the basement, under the Kitchen. The previous owners had used the stove, but I have been wary of it.
The house is about 1500 sqft, and otherwise heated with propane.

See the attached pictures, which have been edited to hide all the basement junk which has accumulated around the cold stove.

First off, the doors do not shut all the way, unless you really SLAM them. They touch each other about 4 inches out, but something flexes, allowing them to close, but not quite all the way. Is this normal / OK?
I tried banging on the doors, and filing the center, with no effect.

Second off, there was a fiberglas rope seal in the doors (or on the face of the stove, I can't remember which). In reading up on Fishers, they are supposed to not need these seals, Right? BTW, the doors will not close with or without the seals - worse with it. Should I glue on the new seal I bought?

Third, the flue pipe is stepped down to 6", right at the back of the stove. The house has a 6" lined chimney, exclusively for the stove. Is it OK to use the stove like this?

Considering all the above, can I get this stove working, or should I just forget using this thing and get a different stove?

Signed,

Frankly Afraid of my Fisher

Attachments

• 8inch to 6inch Flue - Small.JPG
    8inch to 6inch Flue - Small.JPG
    65.7 KB · Views: 280