Newbie needs help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie, my name is Kevin. I stumbled across this forum after spending a couple hours on-line trying to get help with a wood stove I'd like to install.

My situation is that I have an old wood stove, Frontier model #1980. This stove is grandfathered into the house I purchased 2 years ago. Apparently it was installed in the late 70's or early 80's according to the previous owner. I've never used the stove. Considering I have oil heat, I thought I'd use the wood stove to supplement heat and keep costs down. I had someone come over and take a look at the stove to evaluate the set up and his comment was something like, "I'm surprised the house hasn't burnt down yet".

Well, I wanted to move the stove anyway, so receiving such news wasn't too bad. However, I'm on a little bit of a tight budget this year after some heavy home remodeling. My thought was to buy and install an ICC chimney (supposedly the best?) and build a proper hearth with a slightly elevated base (6") and proper wall protection all covered in 12x12 slate. I've estimated this will cost me about $800 to $1000. That will pretty much restrict my budget from buying a new stove. Maybe next year or the year after that I'd buy a new stove. The stove guy by the way, said the stove was just fine. He suggested replacing a few fire bricks and the seal around the doors.