newbie scared stiff

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

smallstack

Jan 5, 2011
Utica,IL
I am new to burning wood, have been burning my fpx 44 elite for about 2 months. Last night I heard a very loud CRACK loud enough to make me stand up out of my chair. To set the scene- yesterday after returning home from work I stoked the remaining coals with kindling and medium splits. After about an hour and half of burning hot I reloaded with large splits. With the fire rolling I pulled back the air and engaged the CAT, business as usual. Maybe 3 hours later CRACK, I visually checked everything I could and did not notice anything, the fire/draft remained consistent seemingly unchanged. It is not unusual for me to hear the fireplace making some noise but this was exceptional. Has anyone ever experienced anything like this? Is there anything I need to check further? Any ideas/advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Was it a metal sound?

I'm thinking ice falling from pipe / roof outside? Do you have ice right now? Do you have a metal roof?

Every so often my Quadra Fire will let off a loud "ting" much like the standard warming up tings, but 10X louder - seems normal.

offroadaudio said:
Every so often my Quadra Fire will let off a loud "ting" much like the standard warming up tings, but 10X louder - seems normal.

My PE does that every once in a while. I think it's just one of those things.

Maybe someone put a bullet in your firewood