Newby Comments and FPX 36 elite Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, let me begin by saying how totally impressed I am with hearth.com! Wow, what a find!

I am an absolute newby to wood heating. I've spent the last 6 weeks installing an FPX 36 elite in my home. Today I fired it up for the first time. What a great feeling!

I am going to have a ton of questions, but I'll start out with a couple of simple ones for other owners of this fireplace. I have some doubts about the air control knob. Mine only moves a very small amount (an inch or so) from its full right (closed) position to its full left (open) position. Also, the steel baffle that the lever is attached to moves around rather loosely. It doesn't just move side-to-side; it sort of can be rattled around. IS THIS NORMAL?