No ash in the ash pan

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Gomli

Jan 19, 2015
Ottawa, Canada
Hello Gents,

I'm new with Pellet Stoves and also new on your forums, which have helped me a lot in getting started with my Pellet Stove.

I have 2 questions if I may :

1) Is it safe to run my pellet stove when I'm not home, (IE. at work)

2) After 2 days of burning, approx. 2 bags. I have to vacuum the whole interior of my stove since its full of ash everywhere, yet very little ash are in the ash pan. I've tried to open up the air vents in the stove a little but if they are open to much pellet just accumulate and overflow the burn pot. So is this ash accumulation normal ?

Thanks !! :)
Jo

Most of us run our stove 24/7. Mine can go for up to 4 days without touching. Some have vid cams on em to watch from wherever:)
Need to add stove to your signature so we know what stove your talking about.
Welcome

That's good to hear that most people run it 24/7 :) WebCam is a great idea, never really though of that !

Added Stove info as requested.

Cheers

welcome to the forum
Safe --yes
Vacuum after 2 bags?

welcome to the forum
Safe --yes
Vacuum after 2 bags?

And yes I know it does seem kind of odd. I mean maybe I can open the air vents a bit more so that less air goes to the burn pot, but then I'm worried about accumulation again.

For example I cleaned it completely and started her up on Friday at 4PM, by Sunday 4PM it's was full of ash, I opened the door and a bunch fell to the floor, that seems not normal to me, but I may be wrong hehe.

Cheers,