Not getting Secondary burn with EPA caddy

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Unethical Sloth

Jan 18, 2022
Quebec, Canada
I have some questions about getting the secondary burn with my Wood caddy (UH-caddy model I believe). I am new to heating with wood, I purchased this home in may and this is our first winter. The home has a caddy wood/oil furnace. I have been burning seasoned maple wood for about a month now and noticed that the furnace struggles with -20c temps. I try to keep the house around 21c (71f) to do this the furnace keeps the damper fully open at all times. The house is fairly well insulated (built in 2008) and when I use the heat pumps (when its warmer than -5) they barely even run and the house stays warm.

When the damper is fully open the flames just roar out towards the baffle and don't pass through the air tubes at the top. I see some secondary burn when the damper closes but its very minimal yet I see videos on youtube where people get a ton of secondary burn. I have a hugely long chimney that I suspect overdrafts but I am curious if anyone else has a caddy and knows more about the subject. Can draft affect proper operation? what kind of wood consumption is to be expected?

Reactions: mark cline
You will have better luck with this question in the boiler and furnace forum.
Update:
Thank you whoever moved this for the OP, hopefully they can get some help a bit faster now.

Last edited:
I've been burning a Caddy for about 10 years now, and I too struggled the first year or so getting it dialed in. With the help of some folks on this board I've been able to get it dialed in pretty well.