Old school wood burner.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Erdco

Jan 29, 2019
Tennessee
Hi everyone.

I am new to the pellet stove world, never thought I'd own one.

I grew up in the sticks and we always burned firewood for heat, it wasn't till I got married and bought a house that I didn't have wood heat,

Our house has a heat pump, it works but I'm not a huge fan of them.

Years ago I wanted to install a wood stove but the wife was dead set against it.

I recently had a 24x30 metal workshop built, I insulated it and purchased a good used Earth Stove and pipe.

I just hooked it all up a couple weeks ago and have ran it twice just for test runs.

Well the other day I made a good score, I was at my local farm supply store and noticed a couple pellet stoves sitting on the back dock, so I asked the manager what the story with them was.

They were brand new US Stove 5502M's, mice had built a nest in both, the were going to dispose of them.

I got them both for $20 each, got them home, still on the back of the truck, opened the back of one, cleaned out the mess, repaired one of the igniter wires, replaced the 3' vacuum hose and cleaned out the auger.

I plugged it up after feeding it what I has which is horse stall pellets, the ting runs great, I was very pleased with my good fortune.

The second one only required the same vacuum hose replaced and clean out of the former mice bed.

It also ran great, I ran each one about 4 hours, I also tried mixing crushed corn with pellets on one, it seemed to run allot better with that mix.