Olson's new house build is going hydronic

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

colson04

Sep 30, 2016
Delton, Michigan
I've been a lurker around here for awhile, finally decided to join so I could participate more in the forum. I really enjoy the knowledge base here and the DIY attitude.

Long story short, I'm a dairy farmer with an engineering degree building a 1600 Sq ft ranch house for my family. Originally, the heating and cooling plan called for a traditional forced air system with heat and DHW supplied by my OWB. The garage, however, was planned for in slab radiant.

As I started digging into what I needed to do to put a radiant system together for my garage, I learned that it wasn't too late to add radiant heat to the house, even though the basement floor had already been poured. So, we've scrapped the forced air idea, and now I'm doing my own radiant heat for the entire house. We will be pouring the garage slab next Saturday and I will be spending the next week prepping everything to make it as smooth as possible. I'll be posting pictures of my progress and asking questions along the way.

My goal for this thread is to share my experience, and also to gain advice and wisdom from other members regarding hydronic heating systems. I've learned a lot since finding your site and look forward to learning more and also helping others when possible.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk