Passive Solar/Thermal Mass Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JSeery

Feeling the Heat
Feb 12, 2015
Irvington, NY
I'm a newbie trying to heat a California designed house in NY. I've got the wood burning thing under control, but I'm looking for ways to retain more heat upstairs, which has cathedral ceilings and poor ceiling insulation. The roof is relatively new, but poorly done, so I figure I'll replace that insulation when I put a new roof on. But that is (hopefully) around 10 years from now, and I'm brainstorming about things I can do this winter.

Unfortunately, I have a wall of single pane glass facing north. I'm talking to an architect to see how I can deal with that. I also have a pretty good sized wall of single pane glass which faces south (see pictures). On a sunny winter day, this really heats up the southern side of this open floor space. The northern side gets heated by the wood stove.

I'm wondering whether it makes sense to harness some of this sun to help out with heating. In the pictures, there is a roughly 6' by 11' space above my pantry/laundry/half bath. The more central portion of this area gets really nice sun. Last spring, I used it as a sort of greenhouse to start a lot of seedlings for the garden.