Pellet install vent question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Elkust24

Aug 6, 2018
Pennsylvania
Hey everyone, I’m new here and currently preparing a pellet install. I’m pretty handy, but I want to make sure I ask the right questions in areas I’m not really experienced at. I have a pellet stove I’m putting in. I’d prefer to take the vent straight out the back to the exterior of the home. Now this will consist of going through stone veneer, cement board 2x4 wall cavity, 2x6 wall cavity then finally 8” block. Two questions, what do I do for the wall thimble since I’m looking at 17” think wall portion? Number two, am I compromising anything with the block wall by putting a 7” hole into it?

In the attached picture I have figured out where I need to go through the block wall. Notice above in, there are 2ply 2x6 supporting an lvl beam. I just want to make sure I’m not compromising anything in that area that would bite me later on. This is a gable end wall to so load in minimal except where the beam is. There are a total of three beams in this room. The yellow highlights the hole in one picture and highlights the bean and “post” in the other along with the propose hole. Thanks in advance for your time and knowledge and patience as I’m sure similar questions have been asked before!

Attachments

• 7FC6ABCB-123D-4B7F-8CA1-A14B275918C1.jpeg
    7FC6ABCB-123D-4B7F-8CA1-A14B275918C1.jpeg
    126.5 KB · Views: 254
  • 0897EE84-A609-41D2-B6A7-A3330CA2CB13.jpeg
    0897EE84-A609-41D2-B6A7-A3330CA2CB13.jpeg
    130.2 KB · Views: 264