Pellet usage though winter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Caseihmech

Jan 14, 2013
Kennewick, Wa
I am pretty new to the pellet stove world and have a question about how much pellets I should stock up.

I just picked up a 1993 avalon 900ps for $75. Previous owners said that the auger would not feed pellets. When I got all the old pellets dug out of the hopper I found that it was jamed packed with pellet fines that were never cleaned out and was stuck. After I pulled the auger out and and cleaned it, and reinstalled. It now feeds pellets just fine. I then cleaned out about 2 gallons of ash that were in the stove. Im still working on changing gaskets and painting the stove.

I plan on swaping out the old wood stove and putting this in its place. I live in a 1100 sq. Ft. Single story house thats built on a concrete slab with a pretty open floor plan. House seems to be pretty well insulated. On the warmer side of Washington state.

With this setup how many pellets do you think I will go through in a winter?

I am pretty new to the pellet stove world and have a question about how much pellets I should stock up.